How to Permanently Delete LinkedIn Account.

Last updated on July 27th, 2020

If you want to backup your LinkedIn profile data, or to permanently delete your account on LinkedIn, and to erase your profile from the website, then continue reading below.

Deleting your LinkedIn account means the following:

  • You will lose access to all the data in your LinkedIn account immediately.
  • Your profile will disappear from the LinkedIn website within 24 hours.
  • Your account information will disappear from LinkedIn servers within 7 days.
  • LinkedIn will de-personalize your logs and other backup information within 30 days.
  • Your profile will gradually disappear from Bing, Google, and other search engines within about 72 hours or until they refresh their cache.

Of course, if you decide to reactivate your deleted account, you may do so within 20 days. However, you will not be able to bring back your group memberships, endorsements, followings, recommendations, ignored and pending invitations.

All that you shared with other LinkedIn users through network updates, InMail, groups or content sharing continue to remain visible after you have deleted the account. However, group content associated with the closed account will display an unknown user as the source.

If you have a group or premium account license, or a LinkedIn membership, you must resolve those accounts before you close your free account. LinkedIn maintains 30 days of web server logs for security, stability, and debugging purposes.

This tutorial contains step-by-step instructions on how to backup and permanently delete your LinkedIn Account.

How to Backup and Delete your LinkedIn account.

Step 1. Backup your LinkedIn account data.

Before deleting your account, you may want to download a copy of your LinkedIn data by submitting a request. Follow the steps below:

To download Your LinkedIn Account Data:

1. Use your favorite browser on a PC to log into your LinkedIn account. On any page, click on your profile picture on the top menu to view your Profile.

image

2. From the profile options, click on Settings and Privacy.

Backup LinkedIn Data

4. On the Privacy page, click at the left How LinkedIn uses your data, and…

1. Click Download your data and select the type of data you want to download or leave the default setting to download all your data.
2. When done, click Request Archive and type your LinkedIn account password.

Backup LinkedIn Account Data

4. Now wait until the requested data is available. Keep in mind, that it may take up to 24 hours for LinkedIn to make your data available.

5. When your data is available, revisit the "Settings & Privacy" page and click "Request Archive" button, to download your data in zip format.

Step 2. Close your LinkedIn Account

To permanently delete your LinkedIn account, follow the steps below:

1. Use your favorite browser on a PC to log into your LinkedIn account. On any page, click on your profile picture on the top menu to view your Profile.

How to Permanently Delete Your LinkedIn Account

2. From the profile options, click on Settings and Privacy.

image

3. On the Privacy page, select the Account tab.

image

4. Then select at the left Account Management, and click Closing your LinkedIn account.

How to Close Your LinkedIn Account

5. Select a reason for closing your LinkedIn account, and then click Next.

Delete Your LinkedIn Account

6. Finally, type your password and click Close Account.

Delete Linkedin account

7. LinkedIn will confirm the closure of your account.

image

8. LinkedIn will also follow-up with an email confirmation. If you want to reactivate your account, you may do so within 48 hours by using the link in the email, or within 20 days by signing back in.

image

That's it! Let me know if this guide has helped you by leaving your comment about your experience. Please like and share this guide to help others.

If this article was useful for you, please consider supporting us by making a donation. Even $1 can a make a huge difference for us in our effort to continue to help others while keeping this site free: