How to Turn Off File History and Reset File History Settings in Windows 10.

Last updated on December 23rd, 2019

In a previous tutorial I mentioned the way to automatically back up your files by using the File History backup tool in Windows 10. In this tutorial you 'll learn how to turn off the File History and to reset the File History configuration settings, if you no longer want to back up your files using the file history backup tool.

How to Disable the File History Backup on Windows 10.

Step 1. Turn Off File History from the Control Panel.

1. Navigate to Control Panel -> System and Security -> File History.

control panel file history

2. At File History options click the Turn off button. *

* Note: Keep in mind, that the stored data on the File History drive wouldn't be deleted. If you want to permanently remove the 'File History" backups, then explore the contents on the 'File History' drive and delete the "FileHistory" folder.

How to Turn Off File History

3. After disabling the File History, you should see a similar window on your screen. If you change your decision on the future and you want to re-enable the File History just press the 'Turn on' Button.

image

Step 2. Reset the File History Configuration Settings. (Optional).

The File History settings, are stored in the CONFIG .XML files "Config1.xml" & "Config2.xml", at the following location on the disk:*

  • C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\FileHistory\Configuration\

* Note: Where "Username" = Your Username (account name).

So, If you want to reset the File History settings to default, proceed and delete the File History configuration files. To do that:

1. Open Windows Explorer and navigate to the above location.
2. Select and delete all the files inside the 'Configuration' folder.

Delete File History Configguration Files

3. If you want to remove also the configuration files, from the File History drive, navigate to the following folder: *

  • X:\FileHistory\Username\ComputerName\Configuration\

* Note:

X = The drive letter of the disconnected drive.

Username = Your Username (account name)

ComputerName = Your computer's name.

4. Select and delete all files in the 'Configuration' folder.

remove file history configuration settings

That's it! Let me know if this guide has helped you by leaving your comment about your experience. Please like and share this guide to help others.

If this article was useful for you, please consider supporting us by making a donation. Even $1 can a make a huge difference for us in our effort to continue to help others while keeping this site free: